I’m Leaving… For the World Expo 2010!

by Sue-Lynn

Guess what, I’ve just been presented with the most exciting opportunity of my life… As OSIM’s in-house reporter, I have been assigned to fly to Shanghai tonight, to cover the World Expo 2010! Isn’t that awesome?? I know some of my friends are really jealous right now, because they have been going on and on about how much they want to be there to see the world come together with the various cultures… And of all people, I have been rewarded with this prestigious chance!

As the official sponsor of the SG Pavilion, OSIM has set up many pit-stops for visitors to relax and re-energise. If you’re at the World Expo now, do drop by to say hi. These pit-stops, aka OSIM Relax Corners, are furnished with our latest innovation – uSoffa Petit massage sofas.

The uSoffa Petit collection in pretty, pretty colours. I like!

These sofas are really hot in Asia and now visitors of the SG Pavilion can experience it for themselves. The uSoffa Petit provides a soothing massage for the lower back, calves, ankles and feet – absolutely heavenly for your feet if you’ve been walking around the various pavilions since morning. I personally think many will appreciate it – ahem, including myself of course!

I particularly love the airbag function of the uSoffa Petit, as it relaxes my muscles without being too intense.

Apart from checking out the SG Pavilion, and spotting various famous faces, I will be having my own little tour around pavilions from other countries. You’ll be surprised at the creativity that’s in store! Many countries have created very interesting themes for their pavilions, and have even included state-of-the-art, high-technology displays that literally take you to a different dimension. I can’t wait to be there to check them out!!

Here are some pavilions that I definitely want to visit:

Holland Pavilion: It’s shaped as a figure of 8 to represent wealth when translated into Mandarin. Also, the pavilion contains traditional Dutch canal houses and even a crown-shaped VIP room. Quaint! I think I’ll feel as though I’ve been transported back in time… Will definitely take loads of pictures here!

The Brazil Pavilion is one pavilion that will be hard to miss, that’s for sure. Its bright green, leafy exterior was inspired by the idea of ‘Brazility’, which I’m assuming should mean the personality and culture of Brazil. Did you know the green ‘skin’ was made out of reused wasted wood?


Iceland’s Pavilion is what it is… Literally made out of ice!


I love Macau’s Pavilion, because it is the shape of a jade rabbit lantern that will continuously change colours. This is inspired by the Mid-autumn Festivities in Macau, where many carry rabbit lanterns. Visitors can not only watch an engaging film about Macau, but they also leave with a rabbit lantern each. I want one!!


Matching its concept of being a ‘green city’, the Romania Pavilion is shaped very uniquely like an apple (actually, a bitten apple!).


Lastly, I can’t forget this Pavilion, the Singapore Pavilion! It is shaped like a musical box and its theme is Urban Symphony – this represents Singaporeans of different races and cultures, living in harmony. I’ll be seeing the familiar flora in the rooftop Garden in the Sky, which will very much remind me of home. Darn, will I get homesick the moment I step in? Hmm…

It is like the entire world has congregated in Shanghai. Talk about saving yourself an around-the-world ticket!

Also, have you guys seen Singapore mascot for the World Expo? If you haven’t, you’re missing out on possibly the most adorable thing ever: Little Durian Star.

Isn’t he cute?? His spiky head is a really good representation of Singapore’s famous fruit, too. I’m definitely getting Little Durian Star plushies and keychains when I’m at the SG Pavilion. Hands up if you want me to get you one, too!

Well, I gotta run, need to get my itinerary sorted out, and think of what to pack! Yes, I haven’t packed yet, I’m such a procrastinator. Will be back on 21st May, I’ll fill you guys in on the details then!

Photos courtesy of:

China Travel: World Expo 2010

Singapore at World Expo 2010

Leave a Reply

